Korean terminology in your class

Shaderon

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I'm interested to find out, how much emphasis is placed on the Korean terminology in your class and how much you have to know to grade.

In our class, the instructor only gives us the Korean if you ask, but gives us revision sheets to learn from, personally I'd prefer more terminology in class, but before I mention it, I'd like to get others viewpoints.

matt.m

Senior Master
Reaction score
Counting, sparring drill commands. That is the big stuff. Little tidbits here and there as well. We are recommended to know it, however that is about it.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Counting, pattern names, basic commands, names of some techniques (mostly kicks) - I'm still learning, so I don't always remember to use them myself... and that 16 year-old 8th gup from Korea in my class makes me self-conscious when I'm not sure of my pronunciation... but at least he's learned not to yell corrections at me or my assistant instructor... I don't mind them during class, but I can do without that openly laughed at by a teenager!

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Counting, pattern names, basic commands, names of some techniques (mostly kicks) - I'm still learning, so I don't always remember to use them myself... and that 16 year-old 8th gup from Korea in my class makes me self-conscious when I'm not sure of my pronunciation... but at least he's learned not to yell corrections at me or my assistant instructor... I don't mind them during class, but I can do without that openly laughed at by a teenager!

Oh my!:)

I use a bare minimum of Korean in my class. (Counting, poomsae names, etc). I'm adding them in slowly. I do think it adds to the TKD experience to know a few things in Korean.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just basic counting and kicks and blocks. Trying to learn the language

Ninjamom