Knee Injury Advice

ldgman1970

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been doing Kenpo for about six months and I am in a total groove and loving it. This past weekend I had my first major injury and believe it or not it had nothing to do with taking a hit. I didn't lock my leg out when attempting a take down and my knee popped out of joint. The pain was fairly excruciating at the time and it was painful to walk most of Saturday. Finally today it is feeling quite a bit better but it still feels a little questionable so I scheduled an appointment to see a sports medicine doc tomorrow. Does this seem like the right course of action? Has anyone else had an injury like this and if so how long were you out? I guess my fear is that this is going take me away from training for awhile.

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have bad knees from years of various sports so I know what you are going through. My question is this: Which is more important, short term goals and training or being able to train for the rest of your life? Go see your doctor and if you have to stop training while you heal so what? If you dont take the time to heal your body what is the point of training your body to begin with?

OP
L

ldgman1970

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for your thoughts and I know you are right it's just that training has been going so well lately. This is going to be a life time thing for me so I would rather lose a week or a month or whatever now than damage my self permanently. Who knows, maybe it's not that bad.

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When a knee pops out of joint, one of the dangers (and often result) is sprained or torn ligaments. To continue training with this kind of an injury is really really bad for your knee.