Kick boxing muay-thai

Cubs

White Belt
Reaction score
Ive been doing this almost a year now. I started off doing this class kickboxing cardio then I liked it alot and went to find how to kick box and do muay thai. Well ive been training kick boxing muay-thai now for 6-7 months and my question is do fighters favor just one leg,when they fight is it normal to use your back leg round house more then the front kick. Ive gone on so many sites and copied counters and kicks and practice them on the bag. Ive seen so many people just want to use high kicks and as I would love to want to kick to the head I dont think i'm that flexible yet so is it better to just punish the leg and ribs alot more then high kicks.If so Then I would just train to punish the legs and rib area.And what flexible exercise is probably best to train for high kicks. Thank You

pmosiun1

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Well ive been training kick boxing muay-thai now for 6-7 months and my question is do fighters favor just one leg,when they fight is it normal to use your back leg round house more then the front kick.
Yes, it is normal, many people do that.

Ive seen so many people just want to use high kicks and as I would love to want to kick to the head I dont think i'm that flexible yet so is it better to just punish the leg and ribs alot more then high kicks.If so Then I would just train to punish the legs and rib area.And what flexible exercise is probably best to train for high kicks. Thank You
Yes, that is a common strategy.

Stonecold

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Yes a lot of people mainly use one leg more that the other, but if you can use both you are twice the threat.
With time your kicks will get higher, keep stretching.
Work on combos of hands & feet, knees & elbows.
Low kick & mid kicks wear down your target, so their great to drill over & over.
Good luck train hard

Reaction score