Kelly McCanns knife techinques are they dangerous?

Mider1985

Green Belt
Reaction score

Im not an expert ive never had a knife fight nor do i wanna. But from alot of experts they usually try to disarm you if you have a knife, in fact most experts say to simply run when your in a knife attack but if you cant that you have to take that gun away or at least have an equalizer. create distance till you can get out your own weapon such as a gun or another knife. Or take the attackers knife away. Knife fighting is really tricky not everyone comes at you like in the movie PYSCHO with the knife overhead etc etc.

So I totally utterly respect Mister McCann and Im not saying this wont work because maybe it will he after all is an expert. But im just saying that from everything ive heard in self defense from experts like the Dog Brothers, Dan Inosanto, Paul Vunak is to take that knife away or have another weapon.

Last edited by a moderator:

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
This short clip doesn't jive with what I was taught about weapon defense. You try to isolate the threat. Counting on a person to turn thier head from attacks isn't reliable, in my opinion. Some people won't turn away and others will lash out reflexively with thier weapon. Fighting someone with a weapon is always a dangerous option. The key is to slant everything possible in your favor. Not controlling the person or the weapon does not slant things in your favor.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Why not train with a live instructor?

bribrius

Green Belt
Reaction score
he covered and would have had a knife stuck in his gut. stepped in on someone with a knife with no guard, and no control or real attempt to control the weapon.

i wouldn't advise it.

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
He looks to me like one of those 'experts' who don't want anything to do with that 'traditional martial arts crap'.