Kara-Ho Kenpo?

K

kkbb

Does anyone here study Kara-Ho Kenpo?
What are the similarities to American Kenpo?
What are the differences?
How many official techniques?

Just interested in knowing what commonalities William Chow's art has with EPAK.
Thanks

OP
K

kkbb

Maybe Mods can move this to other kenpo forum?

Mark L

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I inquired as to any Kara-Ho folks that frequent this forum a few weeks ago, no replies yet. The curriculum I study is basically Cerio Kempo, but we are required to learn four Kara-Ho forms: Kwai Sun for brown, Kata Set 2 for shodan, Combination Kata for nidan, and Hoshi for sandan. I've no experience with EPAK, so I can't comment on similiarities. The forms are markedly different than the pinans and kata of Cerio Kempo. They are quite a bit longer and, in my opinion, much more dynamic.

OP
K

kkbb

Interesting....
I was very curious to know the dynamics of their self defences... since it was Chow who trained Parker...
Hopefully we get some response
TTYL

jfarnsworth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Tonight I just noticed in the newest issue of Martial Art that there's a big write up on Kara-ho Kenpo. Just thought I would throw this out.:asian:

Seig

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mountaineer Martial Arts - Shepherdstown,WV
Originally posted by kkbb
Interesting....
I was very curious to know the dynamics of their self defences... since it was Chow who trained Parker...
Hopefully we get some response
TTYL
I'm confused, how does Nick Cerio Kempo relate to Mr. Chow and Mr. Parker as related in your post? I know Mr. Cerio spent some time with Mr. Parker.

dsp921

Green Belt
Reaction score
William Chow was Professor Cerio's instructor and was the one
that suggested that he develop his own system, Nick Cerio's Kenpo.
( Professor Cerio spells kenpo with an "n"....).
Shihan James runs the NCK website and he covers the
history of NCK and Professor Cerio's instructors pretty well.