Just starting out...

Kodora

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello all --

Since I'm a brand-new beginner, I thought I'd ask some questions that might've been answered in the more seasoned threads, but I couldn't find using the "search" function. So here goes:

1) Is it considered bad form to bring a water bottle to the dojo? And should you drink at all during class? (I was so thirsty after the first initial warmup that I thought I'd die!)

2) I read somewhere that when counting numbers aloud in Japan, the number four (shi) can be substituted with another word (yon) because the former means "death". So why do some American dojos count using "shi"?

3) What's the best way for someone with a tiny frame to strengthen/toughen their upper limbs? Weightlifting, or...? Even though I'm thin, I'm in terrible shape at the moment and have no umph whatsoever.

Thanks so much!

Kodora

jfarnsworth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome aboard and as you can see there are many here with many different experience levels.

1) Bring water for sure! You need to stay hydrated.

2) I don't count in japanese only count in english :) . However I thought from years past 4 was chi. I could be wrong but I know nothing about japanese let alone how to count.

3) I'd probably start with small various weight dumbbells and practice side lateral raises, front raises, and rear lateral raises. This will help with the shoulders. Look in the health section for weight lifting training tips.

Happy kenpoing!

Ping898

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score