Is there a suggested MA for those with limited exercising ability?

RandomPhantom700

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Ok, I posted this question a long time ago, but as it was a long time ago and I'm still curious, here goes nothing.

I'm a 25-year-old grad student and, while I'd say I'm fit, I know I'm not the most toned person out there. This is mostly due to a condition I was born with which severely curtails my ability to partake in aerobic exercise. Basically, my body doesn't breathe more based on the buildup of CO2 like most people's bodies do. It was a great excuse in middle and high school to get out of P.E., but now it's a bit of a frustration.

Anyway, what I'm curious about is if there are any MA styles which I might train in which either don't concentrate on or avoid completely aerobic exercise. I know this may be akin to asking if it's possible to drive a car without gas, but those are the cards I was dealt and I'd like to find some means of training in a defensive MA. Any suggestions or thoughts? Thanks ahead of time.

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Good question, however, I don't have a good answer. If you have a hard time breathing, a stand up fight may not be for you.
Consider that shooting is also a martial art. There are a plethora of different weapons, styles and applications.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would suggest you try Tai Chi. The motions are slower and combat( sparring) is not a major emphases.

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I think you should find something that interest you and go at your own pace. No matter what art you choose it is going to have some cardio because you are moving. You may have to modify things with a teacher's help to fit your needs. Also if you have any doubts explain to your doctor about the martial art techniques to help explore safer alternatives to perfoming them.

Good luck.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score