I'm new to bjj!

Nabakatsu

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hello there, I was hoping to pick some more experienced peoples brains about bjj.
Basically I'm curious to know the advantages and disadvantages to my approach as of right now.
I come from a background of Wing Tzun, and within that system I was taught the ground = death in a street fight. I'm not a huge man, but I'm strong and slippery for my size, 160lbs and 5"11.
When free rolling I really like trying to force positions with strength and persistence, because in part, I've been practicing for less than 2 weeks, and don't know a lot of technical information, but part of me also thinks this will be most applicable to transitioning into mma, or competitive rolling in tournaments. While I understand the idea of not trying to over exert oneself, I feel like it's a good way to gain strength, cardio, and challenge my partners.
That being said I'm definitely gentle when I am able to lay on submissions. (My class is almost all white belts)
When I am more relaxed my guard is getting passed much more frequently, and I have a hard time getting into dominant positions. I've gone into it with really sore muscles with the idea being that I was just going to try to survive, which was pretty tough. My offense has proven aide my defensive significantly.
Obviously when I've rolled with more experienced guys me exerting myself a lot hasn't really proved to be very beneficial.. Anyways, please educate me if you would be so kind, thanks for your time! :)

Charlemagne

Black Belt
Reaction score
...I was taught the ground = death in a street fight.

It certainly can. That is not the same thing as saying that one should avoid training the ground.