Ideal Karate Style

futomaki

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings all,
I am looking to take up a Karate system that is composed of the handwork of Boxing, the kicks of Kyokushin, and the throws and chokes of Judo/Jujitsu. Can anyone help a total noob identify which style(s) best match those criteria?

Thanks !!

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I first would like to say welcome to Martial Talk and then on to your question, I do not believe in a style more so the instructor. To me a great instructor will out do most any style. So where do you live what part of the country so we can help you out.

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just to second Terry's post, it really has to do with your instructors, and their interpretation of the karate toolkit (or that of any other MA, for that matter).

A couple of point occur to me.

• Karate itself has its own handwork which is every bit as devastating as boxing, if you train for close quarter combat the way boxers do. The resources are there in abundance&#8212;you might be interested in the story of Choki Motobu here. But you have to train close in techs very sincerely to be effective, and that's where boxers' training shines out: they accept that they are going toe-to-toe and will be in range of devastating punches. If karateka train with the same expectations, they can be at least as effective.