How to teach

F

foolbae1228

Farang-

I have been training for a while now, and have been told by my master that I am able to teach low-level belts in Hwa Rang Do (white to some yellow). I, at the time, had no interest in teaching my art because of my knowledge (or lack there of) and it was mainly for my self pertection and perfection. Now, I have a couple of friends who are extremely interested and have definate need of the training.

So how do I teach when I am still learning myself? Just as a student I have ideas floating through my head that I can keep straight...so how do I keep my mind in order long enough for me to teach effectively?

Also, what is the best way to teach philosophy? I know someone in desperate need of wisdom and guidance, and I don't know exactly how to put it to him, just because I've tried before and it seems to be a little like throwing fertilizer on a brick wall...against the wind. How can I teach him lessons of life that I learned to him that I know he will understand?

My master says you can't make all the mistakes in the world yourself, so learn from other people. Any advise on what to do or what not to do is wonderful.

Thank you for helping the confused.

Farang-
Ryan

OP
C

CrankyDragon

foolbae1228 said:
Now, I have a couple of friends who are extremely interested and have definate need of the training.
I think your instructor is talking about instructing in the dojo, not outside. If your friends really need some protection, a .38 snubnose is always a good choice, that or they should register as a student at a/your dojo. Thats my advice on that.

foolbae1228 said:
Also, what is the best way to teach philosophy?
1) Though behavior and action. If you beleive in the philosophy, it will be included in your daily life. Then it will make more sense, and easier to pass on.
2) Study notes you take in this area daily. Theres a lot of the stuff that is good info!

foolbae1228 said: