How to deal with young martial artists?

Galens

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I recently became involved with martial arts after a long personal desire to do so. I personally get more satisfaction and motivation when training with a group or a partner. However, recently, I've been having a lot of trouble with training since I started training together with a younger martial artist than myself. This individual is a child at heart and a teen in body. He also happens to be extremely unfocused, unorganized, extremely skeptical, bossy, showy and overall, way too hyper for me to keep up with. I tried getting this individual to train with me, but he doesn't grasp that training is serious and not a contest to see how many tornado kicks you can do within 3 seconds. I unfortunately regret coming to this particular training area now because this is where his other friends are, and I have an overwhelming desire to yell at this kid, or take a jar of peanut butter and shovel feed him so he can stop talking and hopefully, stop creating hurricanes with his flying monkey style.

How do I get through to this type of kid?

What can I say or do to help this kid understand that I mean business about training, without hurting his feelings, without outcasting him, and in a way that he can remember what I said the next week?

Laurentkd

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Do you have an instructor? Surely he/she is in control of the floor? Or is this more of an open training group?

Ken Morgan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Do you have an instructor? Surely he/she is in control of the floor? Or is this more of an open training group?

Agreed. Get the instructor to talk to him or get you a new partner.

Or just come right out and tell him, (He's still a kid and probably needs to be told stuff), that you are paying your dues and are here to train seriously.

OP
G

Galens

Yellow Belt
Reaction score