How to best deal with injuries...

threethirty

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have been training for 7 months now and i find my over all health is improving, but I keep getting hurt. It's fairly minor stuff roll an ankle, bang up a knee, but it takes forever to heal. I have tried wrapping things (only while I'm training) when I first hurt them and that helps, but I quickly lose strength in said area.

I'm not really sure what I am asking for to be honest. I'm hoping someone has been where I am and can point me down the right path. Unfortunately anything with "Doctor" in it is out of the question because I don't have insurance (I know really bad situation).

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
A lot depends on the injury. Bumps and bruises and sprains and strains are part of the territory. Often the key is to protect the injured body part while it heals -- and to give it time to heal. Basic injury treatment (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation or RICE) can be helpful, as can massage. Prevention includes proper warm-up (you may need more than a younger student...) as well as being sure to use good technique.

Nomad

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Listen to your body. It knows way better than your ego how hard you should push yourself, and will complain bitterly when you go too hard. Remember that it's a long road ahead, and that it's ok to pace yourself and not go full out.

If something hurts you to do it, don't do it. You can try again another time when you're feeling better/stronger.

And like jks said, warm-up before your workout, and stretch after. A lot. More than you think you need to.

billc

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score