How often do you change out your old dobak?

How often to replace the dobak?

• After one year

• After 3 years

• I don't

• Just whenever I see the need.

Results are only viewable after voting.

bluemtn

Senior Master
Reaction score
I was wondering, what is the ideal time to change it out? I've been doing TKD for a few years now, but after numerous washings it's changed. It's changed by either shrinking, getting irremovable stains, or worn spots. In other words, do you start replacing them after a certain length of time?

OP
bluemtn

bluemtn

Senior Master
Reaction score
I selected whenever I see the need to. It's also helpful to have more than one, so you can always make sure that you have a clean one! Just my thoughts. Anyone else?

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I generally have several available: 1 that's in good (new or nearly new) condition for events (tournaments, testings, etc.), 1 for teaching (when it's no longer quite new enough for events), and several for working out (when they start to look like they've been washed too many times).

fireman00

Brown Belt
Reaction score
usually the elastic starts to go in the waist band and the top gets kind of thin/ see through thanks to numerous washings - THEN its time for it to be disposed of. Its kind of weird I've held onto dobaks that are 9 or 10 years old - they sit, washed and folded in the closet 'cuz I don't want to toss them but they are too threadbare to be used again.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Our school only wears them on special occasions (tournaments, when traveling abroad), so...once I actually get good enough to partake in any of those (LOL) I see myself replacing mine as soon as they show signs of wear. What I wear to class is another story...as long as it doesn't look disrespectful.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score