How Do You Add Softness to Your Form?

chi-ca

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been learning yang style for a few years now and am still struggling with softness. I know it's not mushy/floppy/limpness. I know it involves sinking after the expansion of each posture. But for as many times as my teacher has said, "shoulders, chest loose" as we move from the expansion of yang into the contraction of yin those words just aren't clicking with me. My form just doesn't have that beautiful "taffy-like" quality that you see with superior players. So my question is, how do you all bring that type of softness into your forms?

OP
C

chi-ca

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Xue Shen-

I've been doing this for 4ish years. I started with the simplified-24 form and moved into the traditional & sword forms. I try to practice daily but that's not always possible.

I'm sure there isn't a secret to softness but there are probably some techniques that I'm not applying/grasping.

-chi-ca

mograph

Master of Arts
Reaction score
When I'm soft, I feel homogeneous, inflated and springy. At least I think that's "soft". :)

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
forgeting about trying to be soft is a starting place.. Just do the moves or let the moves come from you not you do them.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Xue Shen-

I've been doing this for 4ish years. I started with the simplified-24 form and moved into the traditional & sword forms. I try to practice daily but that's not always possible.

I'm sure there isn't a secret to softness but there are probably some techniques that I'm not applying/grasping.

-chi-ca