Holding the sword: does it matter how

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have some kendo experience, and was taught to hold a boken a certain way.
I now practise Genbukan ninpo, and was taught to hold the boken differently.
When I saw the video clip with the guy slashing a baseball mid flight, he was holding his sword (for the 2 handed tatami cuts) in yet another way, with his hands close together and his left pinky far away from the tsuka.

So I've been wondering about this. I understand that within a system, it is a good idea to always hold the sword a certain way. But in the grand scheme of things, and given the wide variety of grips in TMA systems, is one way really better than the other?

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi Bruno,

Well, yes and no, I guess.Certain things will remain the same, but then different schools will have different emphasis based on various factors. These range from the exact type of weapon used, through to the most common usage within the particular school.

For example, within Kendo, you would have been dealing with Shinai, and Kote (as part of your bogu). The Shinai has a much longer tsuka than most actual swords, as well as being round (rather than oval). Add to this the bulk of your Kote, and Kendo's use of fast, "hitting" strikes rather than cutting actions, and suddenly you have a grip with your hands placed far apart, allowing for the room needed for your Kote, as well as the pull with your left hand to "speed up" your strikes.

To counter that with the Baseball-cutting clips (I think you're refering to the later clips more here, yes?), well the emphasis there is on Tameshigiri, so the grip is closer together to strengthen it and handle the impact better.