Hi there!

Ianchaiya

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
just got onto this forum and it’s the first martial arts forum I’ve ever joined. The reason being primarily I had nothing new or exciting to talk about!

I feel I finally do have something to talk about now so here I am.

I recently started training in Muay Chaiya in Bangkok, Thailand. After a sort of false-start involving being taught by the top (and possibly only at the time) farang student when I thought I would be trained by the Grandmaster, Kru Mud. Think it was a lost in translation thing but not on my part, I think the farang student wanted to train me instead and make a bit of cash. He proved a good teacher and I learnt a lot but he was too involved in his own thing and I often found myself training alone as he would nip around doing training and teaching here there and everywhere. After saying he going away for again for another month + I decided I had enough and went to talk to the grandmaster who said he was just as confused at the training set up as I was! But he didn’t want to interfere due to the nature of my trainer. After 4months of training, I onlyactually got 2 months of tuition which is a bit frustrating.

After talking to the grandmaster, all was cleared up, I asked to be his student in an initiation ceremony called 'Kun Kru' (
ขึ้นครู) and he accepted me (which ended just as a massive thunder storm erupted, causing a power cut. very auspicious!). I start my training with the grandmaster hopefully next week and start on a journey into the amazing, yet little practised martial art of Muay Chaiya. I’m very excited and look forward to developing the hard and soft aspects of the art which are essential to be able to perform the techniques properly. Kru Mud said I needed an empty cup. I feel my cup has a hole in the bottom so he has his work cut out for him!

I look forward to discussing Chaiya and other martial forms in general, and will (if time allows) be documenting my journey.

Mooyong

P.S