Hi everyone!

Aileen312

White Belt
Reaction score
I hope everyone's doing great. I'm new to everything martial arts related and just wanting to learn more, mainly because I want to make a good decision about what to start my kids on. Once they're older they'll be able to do their own research and decisions but I think it's important to introduce them to physical fitness as early as possible so they'll develop flexibility and self discipline for whatever they choose to do later. Anyways, right now I'm leaning toward wushu for several reasons but definitely open to suggestions. I heard many people say it's more gymnastics than fighting, but I suppose that for preschoolers that's not a bad thing (not sure I want them learning how to kill with one strike at this age!) and once they're teens they can choose to make the transition toward muay thai, krav maga or whatever has usefulness for self defense. But I'm still not 100÷ sure where they'll be going and I'll need opinions on the teachers (si fu?) I might find in my area lol. Hugs to all!

jezr74

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to MT Aileen.

How old are your kids? I think at very early stages, getting them active is a great idea. You will find most MA schools will have a program for younger ones. But there curriculum might be different and you'll need to speak wit the instructors to find out. I've encountered places that taught the kids to strike dangerously and manipulate joints aggressively, I took them out, as personally I didn't think it was age appropriate and can give a child a false sense of security, instead I look for schools that encouraged motor skills more and fitness. If it involves striking and kicking pads that's fine, what kids doesn't love that.

Good luck with your selection you have come to the right place for advice...

OP
A

Aileen312

White Belt
Reaction score