Hi All - I'm new to Martialtalk

Catalyst

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,
I've been visiting as a guest for a while. It seems that everyone on this site is friendly and treats each other with respect, so I thought I would register and join.

I'm a newbie to Martial Arts. I'm in my 40's and have been studying Hosinsul (Korean for Self-Defense) for about a year and a half. Hosinsul is based on TaeKwonDo with a bit of YonMooKwan Hapkido added.

I started studying Martial Arts to recover from an accident. My one leg got a bit mangled, with the kneecap ending up on my thigh. I happened to see a program on the Martial Arts on the Discovery Channel and noticed, no matter which Martial Art, how they all had such great balance and fluid movement and thought it would help. My doctor was skeptical at first, but now is very pleased with the improvements that my leg has made in terms of Range of Motion, Increased Strength, and my Sense of Balance (I still got a long way to go in all these areas, as well as flexibility).

I visited several schools in my area and chose the Art that I did, simply because the I liked the people there and felt most comfortable there.

I don't know how much I can add to the discussions, since I don't really know anything. I just have so many more questions than answers, but there's a ton of information and a lot of great discussion and resources on this site.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to MT and enjoy!

Feel free to ask any questions that come to mind and don't be afraid of adding your two cents in to any discussions just because you are new to the arts. Just because you are a beginner doesn't mean you cant have insight.

Jeff

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Greetings and Welcome to MT...There are a lot of friendly, knowledgeable and helpful people here..Idiots and the disrespectful don't last long...Make yourself at home...

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score