Hey. New to the forum and to martial arts

zac358

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey ladies and gentlemen I just joined this site and wanted to say hey. I'm a college student at the University of Louisville in Kentucky. I actually haven't started any form of martial arts yet but I am very interested in doing so. Any advice would be great about which styles to take or just any advice on getting started. I'm really interested in JKD or Wing Chun. Just hit me up with any info because I am very eager to learn all I can.

Last edited:

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey ladies and gentlemen I just joined this site and wanted to say hey. I'm a college student at the University of Louisville in Kentucky. I actually haven't started any form of martial arts yet but I am very interested in doing so. Any advice would be great about which styles to take or just any advice on getting started. I'm really interested in JKD or Wing Chun. Just hit me up with any info because I am very eager to learn all I can.

Welcome! The best advice I have heard to date is what I will pass on; there are many different styles of martial arts, and no one can tell you which will suit you best. The arts are often divided into striking and grappling arts, and further subdivided or intermixed into empty-handed and weapons-based arts, and even further into various traditions, such as Okinawan, Japanese, Chinese and various other geographical locations. From those, there are even more subdivisions.