Hello from Okinawa

Seizan

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. It’s been a while since I’ve visited the forums, so I thought I’d reintroduce myself. My name is Gordi Breyette, aka Seizan (not “Seisan” – I am not a kata…). The name was given to me by my teacher Toyama Seiko Sensei, and is comprised of kanji from his own name. I am a UechiRyu practitioner and teacher on Okinawa. I began UechiRyu training in 1974; I came to Okinawa with the USAF in 1979 and stayed here for most of the time since, studying and teaching. I retired from the USAF in 1992 and remained to continue my training, and to teach dojo on most of the military installations here on Okinawa.

In 1998 I met my final teacher Toyama Seiko Sensei, the last active student of UechiRyu Founder, Uechi Kanbun Sensei. My wife and I became his students, and we built our home and dojo in 2000 in Nagahama Yomitan (west central Okinawa) on a hill overlooking the East China Sea. I closed the smaller branches to focus on retraining to an older form of UechiRyu, and since then teaching only the Nagahama Dojo and a few small branches off Okinawa.

Though Toyama Sensei passed away in 2009, he left a legacy and a wealth of guidance and training assignments that seem endless. Sometimes it feels like he is still with us – directing, refining, and encouraging us to go on. We are quite happily carrying on with our training and will continue for many years to come.

The Okinawa KarateDo UechiRyu Zankyokai preserves Uechi Kanbun SenseiÂ’s original performance style and philosophies of karate.

More material and contact information can be found on the website at

www.uechi-ryu.ws

It is shortly to be updated but not significantly (just page-tweaking); most of the information will remain the same.

Though I may not post regularly, I will be happy to answer questions about UechiRyu if I can.

Thanks and good training to all,

Seizan

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member