Hello from Alaska!

TKDinAK

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi all!

New to the forum and the discipline. Been a lurker here for awhile, decided it was time to belly up and introduce myself.

I'm 45 and just started training in TKD in February of this year. I've consistently been active throughout my life, but recently, within the past 5-6 years, I've been working at a desk. Got into TKD to simply get off my butt and get more active. Turns out, I've found a new love. :D

I've always been very good at whatever I've done... and have gotten there very quickly. Musician, hang glider pilot, home builder, business owner, wood worker... etc. It's all come fairly easy to me.

Not so with TaeKwon-do!

What an amazing challenge this is. There is always something to work on, always something new to suck at. LOL! Seriously though... I'm getting so much out of studying this art form. On every level. Physical, mental, emotional and spiritual. Quite frankly, and I know I'm just starting out, but I seriously doubt I will ever stop... as long as my body will carry me.

Anyway... just wanted to say hi, and thank you for providing such a great forum from information and camaraderie.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome! Glad to hear you are enjoying your training in TKD, looking forward to hearing more about your journey :)

OP
T

TKDinAK

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Who is your master and what city

Please excuse my ignorance in such matters... I am still very new and haven't studied much other than that which my instructor has put in front of me. :D

That said, I'll do my best...

My dojang, Midnight Sun Martial Arts Academy, is in Fairbanks. My instructor is Mr. Jeff Hurben. MSMAA is part of the Phoenix Group under Master John Tompkins. The Phoenix Group is a part of the ITF.

Does that make sense?

Master Dan

Master Black Belt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score