Hello from a Geezer

DGF

White Belt
Reaction score
I have looked at this site for a while and am impressed by the wealth of knowlege here. I am not a martial artist, but I have had experiance with stage combat. I have some very strong opinions on that subject. I wrestled in college and was a YMCA boxer in highschool. In my younger days ( a long time ago) I was involved in several barfights etc. So, I am not exactly a virgin, but certainly not an experianced street fighter.

I am retired and have some small disabilities. For exercise I walk. We have over 55 miles of paved walking paths here in Reston VA and I use about 3miles of them on a nearly daily basis. Gang grafiti has begun showing up on the walls of the underpasses giving me pause about walking unarmed. I ordered a Cane from "Wooden Steel", oak with an agressive crook, octagon shaft brass tip with a rubber bumper. I also ordered a DVD on cane defence from Shami productions. I will be posting my thoughts on this in the weapons section of this forum.

I look forward to chatting with all of you and getting your opinions on "seniors" defending themselves with a cane.

Kingindian

Blue Belt
Reaction score
hi welcome to the forum...im also not experienced martial artist.
have a nice day

OP
D

DGF

White Belt
Reaction score
On second thought, perhaps someone could suggest a thread for me to post my questions about cane defence. On looking at the threads I see several that appear to be germain. So, being a newbie I will seek guidence.

Thank you

harold

Green Belt
Reaction score
On second thought, perhaps someone could suggest a thread for me to post my questions about cane defence. On looking at the threads I see several that appear to be germain. So, being a newbie I will seek guidence.

Thank you

Welcome to the forums. I would suggest you post cane questions in the Hapkido forum. That particular martial art is renowned for its cane defense techniques.

OP
D

DGF

White Belt
Reaction score