have tendinitis, what style should i take?

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have not been here in awhile so some of you not remember that i have tendinitis in both of my wrists and that i am a pro drummer. i have been thinking again about taking a martial art for self defense and for fitness. the thing is that i have to be very carful to not hurt my wrists so i dont end my drumming carriers. my left knee also gives my problems because of a past injury.
i have been thinking about japanese jujutsu or karate. what do you all think? are there any other styles that you all would recommend?
thanks for the help.

OP
drummingman

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
krav maga also looks cool to me if i can find a good school near where i work.

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Jujutsu has lots of wrist lock techniques that you should avoid if you already have wrist problems. Many Chinese martial arts have various hand strikes that utilize the wrist in a bent fashion so you should be careful there, too. I know nothing about Krav Maga, but I'd say you'd be pretty safe studying at a school that focuses more on kicking and punching. That can mean karate, but you'll have to ask the instructor, since classical karate also contains locking techniques.

Honestly if you're serious about the self-defense aspect of martial arts study, your limitation is a fairly serious one. There are people who study tai chi on a strictly NON-MARTIAL level and they seem to be happy with the health benefits, but I think it's a shame myself to limit yourself so much. Have you consulted a physician for treatment of your condition?

OP
drummingman

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have, i have had sugery twice on my left wrist in 1998 or 99 (cant remember wich one).
i do want something that would be good for real self defense and fitness.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score