Has anyone else felt weird about hitting people

A

autumn1973

I just started training this past week and I find it hard to actually land any blows on people I don't know. I had no problem hitting my husband...want to do that most days anyway...but other people, I felt weird about it.

I keep making a fool out of myself saying "I'm sorry" every time I have to hit someone. I just wanted to know if others have felt this way when they first began. I am also having a problem following the sequences of some blocks and forms but that's a whole 'nother ballgame.

mj-hi-yah

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! :wavey: Don't worry, it's perfectly normal to feel weird about hitting other people, especially for women I think. I used to also say I'm sorry. I don't anymore. Now I can't believe I am saying this, but LOL I l:inlove:ve hitting them, and don't mind them hitting me. :)

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Amy, don't worry about it, and welcome.

When I started studying, approximately 5 years ago, I, too, didn't ever want to make contact with anyone. I was studying to learn the 'ballet' of motion. As my wife and I went through the lower ranks, we would occassionally make contact with each other (sometimes, she seemed to want to hit me, too --- imagine that).

As we progressed in our study, it became more apparent that contact needs to be made at times, if for no other reason than to have an appropriate response from the attacker.

As you progress, you will learn to make contact with control. You will hit hard enough to get a reaction, but not so hard that your training partner won't come back.

Let this progress take place at your comfort level. You do not need to strike hard now, if you are not comfortable with the idea. Go at your own pace.

Mike

Simon Curran

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
autumn1973 said: