Good Silat schools in NY

alexk

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings everyone!

I'd really appreciate information on quality Silat schools in Manhatten or Brooklyn.
I'm not looking for any particular style. I can't even if I wanted to,
as I am a complete beginner in Indonesian martial arts. And, frankly speaking, not much of an expert in MA in general. :)

Here are the things that are important for me:

1. Competent teacher.
That's the most important part of it. I want somebody who really understands the art he's teaching and is able to communicate it to the students.

2. Sound training methodology.
There must be a well established and proven way of taking a person from point A, a beginner, to point B, competent practitioner.

3. A good mix of beginner and advanced students.

4. Should have classes weekday evening or on the weekends.

5. It should be a practical self-defence and have health benefits (or at least not bad for health)

Well, are there Silat schools like that in NY or should I be looking for another style?

thanks,
-- Alex.

Franc0

Purple Belt
Reaction score
You many want to look up Roberto Torres. He teaches Talio Silat and is very good from what I've heard. I know he's in N.Y. but I'm not sure what part of N.Y. he's in. Also Pembantu Guru Andrew Astle teaches Serak Silat in the Cortland Syracuse area.

S

silat

alexk said:
Greetings everyone!

I'd really appreciate information on quality Silat schools in Manhatten or Brooklyn.
I'm not looking for any particular style. I can't even if I wanted to,
as I am a complete beginner in Indonesian martial arts. And, frankly speaking, not much of an expert in MA in general. :)

Here are the things that are important for me:

1. Competent teacher.
That's the most important part of it. I want somebody who really understands the art he's teaching and is able to communicate it to the students.

2. Sound training methodology.