Good place to learn Wing Chun in northern California?

Benevolentbob

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm really interested in learning Wing Chun but from what I can tell my options are extremely limited. I live about 30 to 40 minutes north of San Francisco, sometimes longer depending on traffic obviously. I'm a college student who works part time so time is highly limited, and with gas prices where they are I'd obviously like to have as short a commute as possible.

So far I've found these places:

Bay Mountain Martial Arts
http://www.petalumawingtsun.com/

East-West Wing Chun
http://www.wingchun-sf.com/sanfrancisco.html

US Wing Chun Kung Fu Academy
http://www.uswingchun.com/

Does anybody go to any of these places or know anything about them? I'd prefer not to go to San Francisco for class because gas would start to get crazy and I would lose a lot out of my day with the commute. However, if it's my only real option then I'm willing to give it a shot. I've heard negative things about Bay Mountain Martial Arts and US Wing Chun Academy and not much at all about East-West Wing Chun. Bay Mountain is conveniently located so I'll probably check it out anyway. I'd greatly appreciate any input or advice.

wtxs

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm really interested in learning Wing Chun but from what I can tell my options are extremely limited. I live about 30 to 40 minutes north of San Francisco, sometimes longer depending on traffic obviously. I'm a college student who works part time so time is highly limited, and with gas prices where they are I'd obviously like to have as short a commute as possible.

I share your pain man, I grew up around the bay area in the 60's/70's, the traffic situation gets worse each time we visit the families there.

Check to see if your college have an message/bulletin board, let the folks posted there know you're looking for anyone may had/has WC training and willing to share ... good luck.

OP
Benevolentbob