Gm David German Rip

KENPOJOE

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Greetings,
It is with heartfelt sadness and deep personal loss that I must announce that GM David German, founder of the T.A.I. martial arts system [TAI KARATE,TAI KUNGFU,TAI KENPO]has passed away at the age of 65.He was a wonderful instructor, a great man and a good friend and i shall miss him everday of my life. I will pass along more information as it becomes available.
Thank you for your time,
KENPOJOE

monkey

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I talked to him many years ago & he had a great energy & great asperation for history & teaching.Great person.Sayanara to a warrior of class.

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
I studied TAI formally for a short time in my journey, then informally via a workout partner and fellow brainstormer who was a TAI black belt for several years. Having not heard of Mr. German prior to my TAI training, I went to one of my old kenpo instructors, Robert Perry, to find out what he might know of him.

Mr. Perry had only praises to sing for the slightly eccentric Mr. German, and stated that he had "the best kicks I've ever seen". Knowing that Mr. Perry had come up in the "old days", and that his training included having worked out with Bruce Lee during his stay in Pasadena; sticks with Danny Inosanto; years of M.C.-ing at the Long Beach Internationals (witnessing all of the phenomenal athletes who have walked through those doors), and that we had watched some of Bill Wallace's last fights together, I had to clarify..."What about guys like Norris & Wallace? What about the HWD guys up the street (who were basically kicking acrobats)?"

"Best kicks I've ever seen", he reiterated matter-of-factly. And Mr. German was more known at the time for grafting kenpo techniques to grappling & wrestling solutions.