FMA Question

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Please excuse the newb question and I mean no offense at all.

My background is Chinese Martial Arts and heavy in the internal side of that. There is a heck of a lot of tradition and history that comes with CMA as well as various forms, some styles have more than others. In looking at various martial arts in my area it seems to me that in FMA there is much less of a concern on history and tradition (not that it is not there) as well as much less or possibly no dependence on forms. I have seen weapons training and there seems to be a dependence on 2 person training like Push hands, tuishou and chi sau found in CMA styles.

Basically it appears less complicated and what I am seeing is a greater concern with the actual training for fighting and more of a concern for application than history, lineage, or form. And to be honest if what I am beginning to think about FMA is correct it is rather refreshing and I like it.

Or is it that I simply have not seen enough or look at it long enough and I am missing the point completely?

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Please excuse the newb question and I mean no offense at all.

My background is Chinese Martial Arts and heavy in the internal side of that. There is a heck of a lot of tradition and history that comes with CMA as well as various forms, some styles have more than others. In looking at various martial arts in my area it seems to me that in FMA there is much less of a concern on history and tradition (not that it is not there) as well as much less or possibly no dependence on forms. I have seen weapons training and there seems to be a dependence on 2 person training like Push hands, tuishou and chi sau found in CMA styles.