Extremely limited choices...assistance welcome...

S

squirepens

I'm trying to look for a decent school of martial arts, and wouldn't you just know it...I've only been able to find 4 different styles down here and most of'em would require me to drive about 40 miles out of the way to go to class. Decisions decisions ehh. Oh well. The 4 choices mentioned are:

Tae Kwon Do (sp?)
Aikido
Kung Fu
Shodokon (sp?)

Anyways the point is, aside from all the usual factors, quality, price, the instructor, etc. etc. and all that jazz, which is the most applicable for self defense? What kinds of things are emphasized in each style? Just curious, cause I'm a complete newb and don't want to fork over money and then get stuck with something I don't like or worse yet, doesn't work. Thanks in advance !!!

Squirepens

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
squirepens said:
I'm trying to look for a decent school of martial arts, and wouldn't you just know it...I've only been able to find 4 different styles down here and most of'em would require me to drive about 40 miles out of the way to go to class. Decisions decisions ehh. Oh well. The 4 choices mentioned are:

Tae Kwon Do (sp?)
Aikido
Kung Fu
Shodokon (sp?)

Anyways the point is, aside from all the usual factors, quality, price, the instructor, etc. etc. and all that jazz, which is the most applicable for self defense? What kinds of things are emphasized in each style? Just curious, cause I'm a complete newb and don't want to fork over money and then get stuck with something I don't like or worse yet, doesn't work. Thanks in advance !!!

Squirepens
Wow, I would narrow my choices down to Kung fu or Shotokhan. Go look at a class in each and talk to the instructor. Both will have their stong and weak points and your personality and personal phoilosophy will fit one of them. :asian:

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score