Does your WC Sifu Freak-out...

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Would your Sifu totally freak if you wanted to train with some guys from a different WC/WT/VT branch? Or would he encourage you to look around and gain a broader experience? If you were planning a trip and wanted to visit some different schools while you were away, how would your Sifu respond?

KamonGuy2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Would your Sifu totally freak if you wanted to train with some guys from a different WC/WT/VT branch? Or would he encourage you to look around and gain a broader experience? If you were planning a trip and wanted to visit some different schools while you were away, how would your Sifu respond?
I guess it is totally dependent on who your Sifu is and who he has upset in the past!!
Generally my Sifu encourages going to other wing chun seminars etc, although I am sure he would get upset if I started training somewhere else more than I did under him!!

My students are always welcome at other dojos although I keep an eye on it in case they choose a bad school or one where students are bullied etc

I personally love going to seminas taught by other WC guys. James Sinclair regulalry holds open seminars, as well as Alan Gibson/Alan Orr.

It is good to understand different points of view about wing chun and then decide what works for you

tenth1

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
my sifu has expressed to many of his students that it is always good to look around and see what else or who else is out there, he has always appeared non judgemental to me. though i havnt had the urge to train with anyone else.

OP
G

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I guess it is totally dependent on who your Sifu is and who he has upset in the past!!
Generally my Sifu encourages going to other wing chun seminars etc, although I am sure he would get upset if I started training somewhere else more than I did under him!!