Does age or size really matter?

MartialMania

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys and girls, Im fairly new to the martial arts community, mainly focused on Judo atm. im pretty active and pride myself on fitness, guilty of a bit too much lifting. I recently began with introduction lessons, and a particular one really got me thinking. so in one of my more recent sessions the current instructor used me to demonstrate the sankaku-jime for some self defense lessons. the student he chose to demonstrate said technique was a 10 year old girl, white belt iirc. now just to be clear, im 23 years old. so he tells me to get in the correct position for her to execute the sankaku.im flat on my back when she approached and finally put me in the sankaku, her legs locked and really clamping down hard. at this moment the instructor tells me to try escape, luckily i get my one arm free and tried to pry her legs apart, and it was pretty much impossible. i swear it felt like my upper body was being crushed by a damn bear. it was a kinda shock for me at that moment, at how effective (and damn painful) these techniques are.

I really was impressed at how these classes can help people, especially little kids learn to protect themselves.
i mean in the situation where a kid would get bullied, these techniques are invaluable. i mean if a 10 year old little girl can pretty much knock me out, she shouldnt need any help protecting herself.

Ironbear24

Senior Master
Reaction score
guilty of a bit too much lifting.

That is your first mistake, there is no such thing as too much lifting. Size can matter, I often find it harder to do certain throws on people much shorter than me because of the lower center of gravity, while tall lanky people go flying :D.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score