Do you hold back when sparring if...

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
you are a male and your partner is a female? Do you only hold back if you are sparring a newbie (orange belt)? Do you hold back with any lower ranks, age, size, sex, etc.?

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Yes.

Absolutely.

I am not very experienced as sparring. I have been working at this portion of kenpo for only a year or so. But, I am now a black belt, and one of the oldest persons attending the regular sparring class.

I see my role in sparring class as a 'trainer'. I allow those in class, usually much younger and lower rank, to develop their skills on me.

Last week, I was working with a junior brown belt. This young lady would throw a jab with her front hand, and follow through, dropping it across her body and down. After recognizing this pattern, I told her that every time she does this, I am going to jab her head, right over her dropped guard. This eventually got her following her jab with an outward block. My point was not to hit her, but to help her appreciate where she creates openings for her opposition.

I attempt to find a similar lesson for all the persons I spar with; giving them an opportunity to learn.

Now, we occassionally have an adult sparring class. And in these situations, I mostly just try to stay alive. ;)

OP
Lynne

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply, Michael.

I think you have a great attitude. For the most part, this is what I see in my Dojang, more experienced members teaching younger members how to spar. There are exceptions though.

I've observed the fighting to be much more aggressive in the sparring classes. Most orange belts don't attend them, though a few do.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
you are a male and your partner is a female? Do you only hold back if you are sparring a newbie (orange belt)? Do you hold back with any lower ranks, age, size, sex, etc.?