Disturbing Relevance to My Work

Phil Elmore

Master of Arts
Reaction score
As some of you know, I am a professional technical writer and have been for a decade. Among the industrial equipment about which I have written (on top of and under which I have climbed, behind which I have dodged to avoid forklifts, and around which I have hastened to take illustrative photos) are the machines that make and inspect glass bottles. I know far more about the making of glass bottles than is necessary for any human being to know.

You flashlight gearheads may be interested to know that one of the ways such bottles are inspected for defects is to strobe a bank of LEDs so a camera and computer can analyze the images that result. A bottle is analyzed for two different types of defects -- dimensional defects, which are flaws in the shape of the bottle, and sidewall defects, which are flaws in the glass itself (inclusions, "birdswings" of glass that stretch across the interior, etc.).

My lovely wife was taking a Snapple from the refrigerator the other day when she showed me the glass bottle. I got all excited. "Hey, this is a dimensional defect! This bottle should have been culled at the factory! It never should have made it through!"

How she does not think me insane I could not say, given that this type of behavior is not all that uncommon for me.

bottledefect.jpg

Dimensional defect in glass Snapple bottle

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi Phil,

Since this is about your work, I was curious. How do you get into technical writing?

My wife is degreed, and does a lot of legal writing for her work, but has been interested in getting into technical writing. Some advice would be appreciated.

Paul

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score