Distance Learning

J

jibran

I got the idea for this thread because the Hybrid Martial Arts Thread was going off-topic.
Now for my 'distance story':
I am a distance student. I'm using the Kasumi-An Long Distance Learning Course and I am testing for Bujinkan diplomas instead of To-Shin-Do ones because I asked the Dayton Quest Center the Shadows of Iga equivelents of the Distance grades and they said I could test for those instead.
I plan to go to seminars whenever I can and to attend a dojo whenever I am in a place that has one; I may train with Hatsumi Sensei next year. When I move back to the US in 2007 I will attend Jack Hoban Shihan's monthly seminars and I will attend a dojo in a bordering state.

gmunoz

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I've seen some of the stuff Kasumi-An Hombu has come out with pertaining to SOI classes and I think it's really good. Good luck in your training.

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Let me get this straight- you have no experience under an instructor or someone who can point out problems in what you do before they become habits.

If that is indeed the case, you might want consider taking another art like Tai Chi Chuan under a real instructor until you can get to a real Bujinkan dojo.

Have you considered just how many holes you are probably drilling into your taijutsu right now?

You may think you are doing things correctly, and you may even have a few mistakes pointed out when you send in video tapes to be evaluated. But it is the things you don't know that you are doing wrong that should worry you. Without any experience, you just do not know what you need to look out for. A blind spot is not just something you cannot see, it is something you are not aware that you can't see. That is what makes it so dangerous.