disadvantages of MT(for self defense)

cfr

Black Belt
Reaction score
Same disclaimer as last time. Let me first start off with the disclaimer that I dont train at a full blown MT gym. I dont want to step on any toes here. (I seem to do that often enough in the Kenpo forum.) :ultracool

I watched MT fights the other night for my first time. Some of the things they got me wondering about how good it would be for self defense. Two thing in particular:

1; They stand almost straight up. Looks easy to be taken down.
2; They stand almost squared off. With the back foot not all that much further back than the front foot. Meaning that they're groins seemed exposed. I think the logic is because that way the back round kick would hit its target faster but thats just a guess.

Again, Im no expert on the subject. My school is a mix of MT with some other stuff and I was just observing something interesting. Am I correct on these thoughts???

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Concessions to the fact that it's a sport, I suppose--with the groin not a target and tackling disallowed, they must optimize for the situation, as boxers do. The question is, does the realism of the training make up for it?

M

moving target

MT is a sport, I don't think people get in a street fight thinking it will be like a ring fight, the benefit of training in any kind of sport is that you can sharpen specific tools.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
cfr said:
Same disclaimer as last time. Let me first start off with the disclaimer that I dont train at a full blown MT gym. I dont want to step on any toes here. (I seem to do that often enough in the Kenpo forum.) :ultracool

I watched MT fights the other night for my first time. Some of the things they got me wondering about how good it would be for self defense. Two thing in particular: