Differences in the Gracie Jiu Jitsu Schools

LoneRider

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I've been training off and on for six months with the Gracie Barra affiliates in San Diego and Chino Hills whenever I have time off at Fort Irwin (in California's Mojave Desert) and I've enjoyed my experience so far. I'm curious is there any substantial differences between Gracie Barra and the other Gracie type schools in case I wind up stationed somewhere where there are no Gracie Barra affiliated schools.

LuckyKBoxer

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I can not answer this with certainty.
I am basing this on what I have seen, what I have learned, and what I have gotten from talking to other people.

The basics in Brazilian based Jiu Jitsu are pretty much standard regardless of where you go.. I mean an arm bar is an arm bar, a rear naked, omoplata, americana, knee bar, etc.etc. are the same.

The big differences are going to come along when you have people of different styles teaching classes based on their own style..
meaning that some people will be half guard geniuses, and will have set ups, and manuevers that range from basic to extremely intricate in set up.
Others will be favoring the mount, the spider guard, etc.etc.
I know some instructors will lean heavily towards competitive sports jiu jitsu, either gi, no gi, or both... so will slant towards MMA, some will have a combative slant to their teaching.
I think that one thing I like that Gracie Barra does is it standardized its fundamentals programs, for beginners, intermediate, advanced, Gi and No Gi so that its students all over are given a strong grasp of the basics. I know that some of the other big organizations have similar programs, and I have to assume they are probably fairly close depending on the skill or belt level of the class they are teaching.