Did I handle This The Right Way?

Msby

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi MT, I'm just a student looking for some advice about an incident from yesterday.
I went to a friend's house for a halloween party and one of my good friends (Friend 1) tells me there's another TKD guy here (I have a martial arts club at my school, so my friends know I like to meet people from other MA schools to compare tech.) So things are going good, I met another TKD practitioner, and we're comparing our methods. (in a very friendly way I might add)

So after awhile we kinda disperse and start mingling in the party again. Friend 1 sneaks up on me and starts doing friendly joke punches at my stomach. It's like our inside joke to do that to each other as a reflex test, and one of my other friends joins in just for laughs. So TKD Guy comes up and I think he's going to do the same thing. And here's where I was stupid and let my guard down. Basically I took a full on forward stance/reverse punch to the stomach. I get the wind knocked out of me and I'm standing there asking him "What exactly is your problem?!" Turns out though that I wasn't making any noise cause I had no breath.

When I finally did regain the ability to talk I decided against confronting him about what happened to avoid making a scene at my friend's house cause she went through a LOT of trouble to arrange her party. I kept a VERY watchful eye on him though.

What say you MT?
PS: I'm okay, the only thing hurt is my pride...

Reaction score
First off, I think you handled it well enough... not causing a scene is all well and good, kudos for that... but... I would track down and spar with this guy. Just because. Just be sure you do it under supervision. But maybe that's just me. Remember him if you go to any of the same tournaments.