Diabetes and meridians

Xequat

Black Belt
Reaction score
I recently started studying pressure points and meridians, and I was wondering if anyone knows of anything that I should be careful about. My instructor tells me that the spleen meridian would be a bad one to attack, so we usually stay off of it in class, but does anyone else know of anything weird about it, since I am a Kyusho rookie? Heh, anyone know a cure?

bujinclergy

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Depends how bad your diabetes is....
As for the "obvious" earth channel related points such as stomach and spleen it isn't as simple as that since spleen rules the muscles. So technically by that theory anywhere in the body is a no go.
Ask your teacher instead of where not to get hit what herbs, exercises and such you can do to strengthen your entire system so balance would keep you from getting in trouble.

OP
Xequat

Xequat

Black Belt
Reaction score
Ah, OK. Thanks, I appreciate that. Thanks for the info about the spleen; I didn't know that. :)

TwistofFat

Green Belt
Reaction score
Xequat - My thoughts are that Kyusho is best left to treat the side effects of diabetes. If you are a type I or fully insulin dependant type II do not mess with insulin enhancement herbs and the like as the side effects FAR outweigh the benefits. If you are a type II and not yet reliant upon insulin, the impacts of a good diet and meridian efforts to improve bloodflow are well worth it (for all types). The effect that many treatments have on insulin obsorbtion mimic lots of bad things for the diabetic (like alcohol does - raises blood sugars then drops like a rock...).

As a 22+ year diabetic (minimed pump wearer for last 5+), I have tried many treatments and a good run, diet, visits to the local chiroprator and plenty of EPAK goes a long way.

Best regards - Glenn.

bujinclergy

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
This is an excellent point!!