Cross-Training?

nerdette_007

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
This thread was inspired by a conversation I had recently.

I've been running casually for ~5 years now, and recently signed up for my first 10K. In addition to increasing the frequency of "run days", I've upped my distance and started working on speed. A fellow martial artist (with way more experience) criticized my new routine as being too cardio-intensive for an aspiring MA, and potentially damaging to my minor progress in muscle gain. He suggested anaerobic-training (uphill dashes, sprints, etc) instead of my typical hour-plus ramble. It had never occurred to me that specific exercise could be detrimental to my MA progress.

This conversation made me curious: what, if anything, do you do to cross-train? What other activities do you participate in? Are there any strength or conditioning routines that are uniquely beneficial to MA practice?

Also: are there any other runners out there, and if so, what are your thoughts on this advice? For the record, I've added some anaerobic training to my trots but for the most part I've stuck to my original gameplan. Good/bad idea?

I also do 2-3 days of mild strength and core training, and yoga (which I find rather boring, honestly, but has proved beneficial for balance and flexibility).

Thanks in advance for your opinions and honesty-

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Any sport-specific training is likely to be detrimental to other sports. Some things cross boundaries, like strength gains or flexibility gains. But training to improve your time in a run will probably reduce muscle gains, unless your program is carefully designed. The human body tends to favor improving endurance over building muscle. However, you're talking about a 10K; that's about 6 miles or so. Unless you really go nuts, your training for that won't be hugely detrimental to your other goals -- except in the time it takes.