Crisis in America, can we help as martial artists?

Hung Fa Moose

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

Lately I've been noticing alot of troubling things in the States, just through news and other media. Many Americans seem to be suffering from an identity crisis of some sorts. Very few individuals these days seem to be sure of who they are. Look at our movies and novels of late, many deal with this problem for the main character, they are searching for their purpose, their identity. As martial artists, we train to find this so that we are able to act without hesitation when pushed into threatening scenarioss. We are sure of ourselves and know what we can do, should do, will do when presented with challenges. Not too many people in my experience are able to hold their own, whether it be mentally or physically. As a teacher, I see this more, with parents who should not be having children (due to lack of emotional/mental maturity, finances, and many other reasons), don't want the ones they have, etc. What happened to the days of owning up and taking responsibility for one's actions and their consequences? Those days seem to have gone away. Can we as martial artists possibly strive to being some sanity to this situation? Any thoughts?

bcbernam777

Brown Belt
Reaction score
There is a saying, there is nothing new under the sun. The fact of the matter is that we can only do as much as our sphere of influence will extend. the wonderful thing i love about martial arts is that is gives you an entry point to influence others with the values I hold dear, honour, respect, self determination, responsability. We as martial artists cannot change a culture, but we can change individuals, which is why retaining elements of respect in the transmission of the art is important.

Ric Flair

Green Belt
Reaction score
True ^^^