Children's Instructor Grabs Kids Necks

Katie

White Belt
Reaction score
My 5 year son is trying karate class for the 1st time. It is a 4 to 6 year old class. The instructor uses holding the back of the neck as a way to move children where he wants them or to get their attention. I have zero knowledge of karate practices but this seems harsh.
Is this not good practice?

snake_monkey

Orange Belt
Reaction score
What is the size of the class? This could be a McDojo, and the instructor may not have the energy/attention/mindset to give them other types of cues, hence the treatment. Many teachers don't actually want to be babysitters. Moreover, this action does not teach self-discipline, it only teaches discipline.

OP
K

Katie

White Belt
Reaction score
There were 8 students and one instructor. I dont know what their cap is. The next class after my sons was 7 to 10 year olds and there were about 15 of them. We stayed and watched that class for a few minutes and the neck grabbing was really bad.
The kicker is, it seemed he would have had the right amount of respect from the kids without the neck grabbing. It just seems humiliating to me, not a way to gain respect.
Again, I have never set foot in a dojo before and I would like to hear from some people with experience if this is normal.

snake_monkey

Orange Belt
Reaction score
We each have our own ways, and there are many good works on the Way of Karate or Karate-do. I have experienced first hand that some Karate teachers look for a high level of submission from their students. However, this action seems specific to the teacher and I wouldn't feel comfortable sending my children to that school, but my 2 1/2 y.o. already knows how to play the bo staff :rolleyes:.

OP
K

Katie

White Belt
Reaction score
Thank you for your input. My thought is if it made me feel uncomfortable, it probably wasn't the right place for my children period

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score