Can Indomitable Spirit be Conveyed?

drewtoby

Orange Belt
Reaction score
As in before a fight?

Just wondering, because in my K-12 years I got in a lot of almost fights, but no one would take the final step. They always backed down, and walked away looking foolish.

Since I am a Martial Artist and did not want to fight I would not be the first to strike. But, if someone pushed me I would push back. In one case someone basically ran after I pushed back.

I am told that I get "those eyes".

And I am underweight, so I don't have any scary features...

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As in before a fight?

Just wondering, because in my K-12 years I got in a lot of almost fights, but no one would take the final step. They always backed down, and walked away looking foolish.

Since I am a Martial Artist and did not want to fight I would not be the first to strike. But, if someone pushed me I would push back. In one case someone basically ran after I pushed back.

First of all, I do this stuff all the time, but you tell me. I have a baby face, but if I look the least bit irritated, people tell me I scare them; so, once you get this figured out, let me know.
sean

Zero

Master Black Belt
Reaction score

No one wants to hit a malnourished person, it only lowers your street cred.

Instructor

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't think it has anything to do with ones face or eyes. I think it's within, indomitable SPIRIT. It really doesn't have much of anything to do with martial arts either. It's like those people who lose everything in a fire and then clean up and rebuild their life, stick by stick. Un-conquerable.

Fritz

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I know it can be conveyed as I have experienced it myself on the receiving end a few times.

I guess the question is- are some people born with it (yes), and if not can it be cultivated through martial arts training (also yes).