Buying a Sword - Please Advise!

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was hoping to get a little guidance. I am aware of a store that is closing due to the owner going into retirement, and he is significantly discounting his inventory. Among other things, he sells Japanese swords, most of which are junk, but a few may potentially be decent quality.

Have any of you heard of these two companies: Musashi, or Ryumon?

Apparently these swords are made in China, but they are hand forged and folded, they do appear to have a legitimate hamon, it doesn't look faked to my modestly educated eye.

Only the more expensive pieces were obviously folded from what I could see, tho the others certainly could have been even if they weren't polished enough to make that obvious. At any rate, even the less expensive ones appeared to me to have decent quality steel, altho I am no expert.

The price range for these was originally somewhere around $200 to $1000, but he is discounting as much as 40% to clear out his inventory.

Does this sound like a good opportunity? Anybody have any experience with, or thoughts on, these companies, Musashi, or Ryumon?

Thanks!

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The following is offered with the provisos that I am a JSA practioner and a bit of a sword-snob at the same time :lol:. Also, I have no hands-on time with these swords myself and can only go on the reports of other swordsmen whose opinions I trust.

Musashi and Ryumon have lots of pretensions and surround their product with 'frills' that seem to indicate quality but in fact are, to butter no parsnips, inferior. Impressive looking 'certificates' that mean nothing accompany the product and poor quality 'flash' fittings adorn blades that are average at best.