Bringing back formal student

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Turtle ask a question about asking students to leave my question is this have you ver called or wrote to see if a formal student would come back an train with you after a fallout? Or do you feel it could never be once that line was crossed?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From the formal student POV, yes

I was a formal student of my Taiji sifu for years and we had a falling out and I left for about 6 months. I returned and things are much better now.

Nomad

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I think a lot would depend on the circumstances surrounding how and why the person left. If they left "badly", they would not be invited back. If they left on good terms, then they certainly would be welcome, and we have several students who did this (left for varying periods of time, then rejoined years later).

I think the onus is on the student, though. They have to decide on their own for whatever reason that they would like to start up again, and contact us. Having the instructors contact students who left to try to get them to rejoin would be both invasive and in 99% of cases a waste of time.

YoungMan

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
It is the student's responsibility to contact the Instructor about resuming training. Depending on the circumstances regarding why the student left, the Instructor may then decide whether to accept him or not.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Of course it would depend on the reason & it would be up to the discretion of the instructor.