Bong Sau

Hong Kong Pooey

Blue Belt
Reaction score
This is something I really seem to struggle with, a lot of the time I'm either too tense or it collapses, too high or too low. I think it's ok in SNT but when we're doing applications is when it seems to go wrong.

Do you guys have any great tips or insights that can help flick the switch so the light bulb comes on for me?

I'm a WT student, just started on Chum Kiu to give you an idea of where I'm at and how much I've still got to learn.

I will of course ask my teacher when I can, but haven't got class again till next week so thought it was worth a shot :)

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
The WT bong-sau works a little differently than bong in some other lineages. We start training bong with an artificial position (as found in the forms) with the arm bent at 135 degrees, the shoulder relaxed, the elbow rotated fully upwards, and the bridge on the centerline. Another thing to watch for, the upper arm (shoulder to elbow) should be pointing straight forward parallel to the centerline, and not angled outward like a chicken wing. This will give you some parameters to check your positioning.

Now the catch is that this position isn't really bong-sau at all. Bong-sau is what happens when your opponent's force bends your arm like a springy piece of rattan, and rolls it over so that the bow of the spring bends upward. This is the real, dynamic bong-sau as conceived in the WT system. It is what happens when your attacking hand meets and is "deformed" by opposing pressure. It must be very elastic and constantly press forward like a bent spring. It's height and angle all depend on the pressure you receive so the position in the form is just a sort of generic guide. When you get a little further into chi-sau this will become apparent.