Black Belt Requirements

pete

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello All... I am new to Martial Talk and previously posted this on another Kenpo forum. I thank those few who did provide feedback on the other site, but still looking for more...

I am a Brown-1 and at the school I attend the owner/instructor has established his own syllabus based on a combination of "Old Parker" and "New Parker" techniques. We learn 20 techs per belt level, plus one form and one set. Sparring begins at Purple belt, and teaching starts at Brown-1.

There are 170 techiniques to Black Belt, Forms through Long-4, and all of the sets versions 1 and 2. 200 teaching hours are required to be conducted between Brown-1 and Black, as well as a "mysterious" number of sparring "points" (i think he just wants consistency). A Thesis and Personal Form are required to be presented at your Black Belt test. There are no weapon forms before Black.

This seems reasonable and in line with much of what i've heard from others, however, without getting too far ahead of myself... the requirements from Black to 2nd degree are another 60 techniques, and to be able to perform all 230 techniques from both sides. Long-5 and Bo Staff Set are required, along with 400 teaching hours, more mysterious sparring points, another thesis and personal form.

I guess my thoughts at this point are that teaching could have started earlier than brown-1 to begin earning the 200 hours.. i look at it that if i teach 1 hour per week, it will take me 4 years, and it may have been better to have started 2 years ago at brown-3.

And doing all techniques from both sides looks a bit daunting, especially with the extended techniques we learn at brown belt levels.