Better student or better instructor?

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've had this conversation with a good friend, lately. He has been teaching in his own school for quite some time. He's very good at it. However, he feels that he gets his batteries recharged more when he is a student than when he is teaching.

As much as I love being a student, I really enjoy teaching. I try to learn all I can just so I can share it with others.

What about you? Do you get your batteries recharged more from being a student or an instructor?

Steel Tiger

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have to agree with you Iceman. I find teaching gives me that something extra when I know I have increased someone's collection of knowledge.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It kind of depends. Being a student reminds me that the perspective is completely different from the other side - which helps me to be a better instructor, I think. But I also enjoy teaching, which inspires me to continue to be a student. The two build on each other, at least for me.

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Not me. You can believe this or not, but at one time, the idea was presented to me that I could have chosen to aspire to teach TKD. But that is not for me, definitely. I am much more of a student, in my personality.

I don't know why, but the high point for me is to be on line, with the other students, with the Teacher keoping as we kick, up and down the floor! I can never do that at home, or alone. But, when the Teacher yells, then I just keep going! They say a horse can run faster with a rider on it. Its that kind of thing. When I hear the Teacher yelling, and the other students yell when we turn around, then...

BAM!!!

I will keep up! Now, that being said, there have been some times when it seems that I have been helpful to other students just one on one, maybe making a suggestion. Now, that is the "best of both worlds"!