Best Sport Karate Athletes?

alcatraz

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've asked this question elsewhere in the past, but as a noob here, I thought I would put it out there for the mebership of this board as well.

I'm a bit of a nostalgia nut, so please bear with me.

I'm 40 years old, and I've been involved with Martial Arts since I was 7. In that time I've had the good fortune to train with some excellent martial artists from various parts of the Martial Arts spectrum.

Also, in that time, I've competed, fairly succesfully, under various Sport Karate formats ranging from the old WUKO and it's newer WKF incarnation thru to Semi Contact (Points) and Light Contact (Continuous), and even the occasional Knockdown and Shubo-Ippon event.

I'm going to list the best fighters I've seen, and came up against in competition. Most of them kicked my behind, but I would like to think (or is that imagine?) I gave as good as I got in many of my bouts.

1. Top of any list has to be Alfie 'The Animal' Lewis. The guy was (is) a phenom of sport Karate. There were, and are, very few fighters who made such an impact in both Freestyle Sport Karate and Traditional Sport Karate. I remember the fuss in letter pages of the UK publication 'Traditional Karate' when Ticky Donovan picked Alfie over Mike Sailsmain for the English WUKO squad. When I was training at Peterborough Freestyle, I had the fantastic fortune to train under Alfie both in Peterborough, and Liverpool.