Belt as a Weapon

Glycerine0160

Orange Belt
Reaction score
By no means do I think this is a new concept. But I was playing around with my kali sticks and then I just picked up my belt to feel the difference in weight (which would cause me to strike faster)

So I took my belt and folded it into two. I don't know but I became severely impressed. I started playing around with ideas in my head. (I'm still very new to martial arts though)

I actually decided I think I would rather have a belt as a weapon than a knife unless the attacker had a gun. The belt feels as if it can strike just as fast as a knife (if not faster w/o using the belt buckle side), yet has a lot more range. It feels really nice too. Not to mention, you have two sides to choose from. When you fold it in two, you can choose the belt buckle side, which is slightly slower cause it doesn't whip as fast but it will be a lot more powerful. Then you can use the other side, which is two of the leather flaps which have insane speed.

Pros:
Fast
Choice between moderate to almost lethal (2 sides)
Comfortable, like a kali stick
Inconspicuous, no one can interrogate you about why you carry it ( to elucidate this further, I love how unmenacing it seems. you could very quickly end a fight w/o causing permanent damage other than whip marks on your opponent. perfect for ANY situation w/o worrying about the law against you.)

Cons:
May whip you back (but even when it hit me, the concept of zero pressure when it hits me makes it a very weak recoil)
Not easy to pull out (however, I considered this. I may just carry one in my pocket as well, fold it up, and even if I want, organize it in my pocket so i can have it already held in two with either of the two ends in easy reach)