'Beliefs' in martial arts.

fangjian

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was attempting to start a blog today. The original intent of my blog is going to be about my disbelief in gods and other religious ideas. But my first post is about beliefs in martial arts. I as hoping some of you would check it out and let me know what you think if you have a minute. All criticism is welcome. It's my first time trying it and would welcome advice. Here's the link below.

http://ath3istbydefault.blogspot.com/2011/02/beliefs-in-martial-arts.html

Aiki Lee

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I think it is important for the sake of argument to be able to differentiate between blind faith and informed or reasonable faith when discussing certain subjects whether it be martial arts or religion or science.

Ken Morgan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Its funny, I was reading your post and thinking "peer review", then half way through you mention it!

Not all MA require you to go toe to toe with someone to prove your worth, or the validity of your art.

No matter what industry/profession you are in, you will always have those on the peripheral who will always try to make a buck or elevate themselves to a position of authority in their little world. Generally they have half assed qualifications, but try to pass themselves off as more then they are.

Who decides who is qualified? Groups of like minded people get together and start judging others, who are they to judge?

My MA is iaido and jodo, I can tell, just from 12 years of experience who “has a clue” just by watching someone for 30 seconds, it doesn’t matter if I know that school or not, I will know.

Sorry….all over the place….

Balrog

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I think it is important for the sake of argument to be able to differentiate between blind faith and informed or reasonable faith when discussing certain subjects whether it be martial arts or religion or science.